It’s a question often asked by our guests. So here is what we tell them…….
Glenmore was originally a 25,000 acre Squatting Run. The first white settler in the Upper King was a Scottish gentleman named John Bond in 1843. Although he only stayed a short time the Scottish name Glenmore remained. Amongst the squatters at Glenmore there were some ‘interesting’ characters. None more so than the fourth family of squatters who were Ned Kelly’s grandparents and Uncles, the Quinn family. Their homestead was just below our Merlot paddock. They took up the lease in 1864 and The Glenmore Police Station was built in 1870 about 400 metres from the Quinn homestead to ‘keep an eye on the locals’.
Another ‘interesting’ character was Harry Power, ‘the gentleman bushranger’ as he was sometimes called. He escaped from Pentridge Prison in 1869 and took refuge above the Glenmore homestead. Power’s Lookout, which stands as a sentinel over the property was named after him.
A primary school was opened on the property in approximately 1906. It also took the name Glenmore.
At the left of the above photo is a 100 plus year old conifer. This is the site of the Glenmore Primary School SS3076.
Opposite our Farmhouse on the left, and in line with The King Valley Kiln, was the site of the Glenmore Police Station.
Glenmore Primary School picnic 1912.
Glenmore Homestead taken in 1935
With the Taungerong Aboriginals, the Scottish, English, Irish, Australians, Chinese, Spanish and Italians, from hunter gatherers to cattle grazing, timber, vegetables, dairy farming, hops, tobacco and grapes, Glenmore certainly has had an interesting history in a relatively short time. Hence the name ‘Glenmore’, and ‘Springs’ because we have beautiful spring water on our property that flows all year round.